"> ',{'anonymize_ip':true,'forceSSL':true});


The stories in this collection are set 1980’s and 90’s Ireland. A by-pass around a small village has rid the residents of their once busy traffic. They feel forgotten by the world. The need to reach out and be heard is explored in every story, from the young woman who starts to have phone conversations with her husband’s gay lover, to the dyslexic man who confronts his cruel teacher years later and the woman whose dreams are shattered because of a married lover. Treading the Uneven Road introduces us to a society that is unraveling and we cannot help feel for Brown’s characters who need to make a choice on how to carry on.

About the Author

L. M. Brown is the author of the novel Debris. Her stories have appeared in numerous literary magazines. She grew up in Sligo, Ireland, but now resides in Massachusetts with her husband, three daughters, a dog and a bearded dragon.


“Set in Ireland, the wonderful stories in Treading the Uneven Road are connected with bands of steel and heart.Their unforgettable characters weave in and out of each other’s lives, acting on impulses that are sometimes misguided, occasionally dangerous but often beautiful.A great read.”

—Pamela Painter, author of Getting to Know the Weather, and The Long and Short of It


Midwest Book Review

Savvy Verse and Wit

The Arts Fuse

Uncaged Reviews (p. 90)

Blue Book Balloon


Ali Bacon’s Blog