"> ',{'anonymize_ip':true,'forceSSL':true});


Other Fomite Books 

by Lynn Sloan

This Far Isn’t Far Enough

Principles of Navigation

It’s 1974, and America is restless, with the Vietnam War winding to a close, and feminists marching in the streets. Polly Wainwright respects the protesters’ demands for equal pay, but now nearing middle age, won’t risk her security. Her job, being a picture editor at a prestigious publisher, is enviable and too good to lose. Polly is comfortable with her life—her homey Chicago apartment, her war-correspondent boyfriend with the dangerous job that everyone admires, the steady paycheck.Still, she’d once dreamed of making documentary films.

When suddenly her life is thrown off-course, Polly slowly begins to view things differently and with growing dissatisfaction. But she can’t shift gears to imagine a different future—until a mysterious letter arrives, changing how she views the one moment in her past when she might have achieved her dreams.

Lynn Sloan’s second novel, Midstream, is the engrossing, powerful story of a woman awakening to the power of possibility.


About the Author

Lynn Sloan is a writer and photographer. She is the author of the story collection This Far Isn’t Far Enough and the novel Principles of Navigation, which was chosen for Chicago Book Review’s Best Books of 2015. Fortune Cookies, an art book featuring her flash fiction, was produced by Sky Lark Press in 2022. Her short fiction has appeared in Ploughshares, Shenandoah, American Literary Fiction, and included in NPR’s Selected Shorts. She graduated from Northwestern University, earned a master’s degree in photography at The Institute of Design, formerly the New Bauhaus, and exhibited her work nationally and internationally. For many years she taught photography in the MFA program of Columbia College Chicago, where she founded Occasional Readings in Photography and contributed to Afterimage, Art Week, and Exposure before turning to fiction writing. She lives near Chicago and serves on the Board of Directors of the Society of Midland Authors.